Tip it, twist it, tilt it. When things go sideways.

Things change, relationships change and there comes a time when a stone that sat pretty on your finger no longer serves its purpose. One very simple and easy redesign trick is to turn the stone on its side. In this picutre I show a 12.50ct Emerald Diamond cut that once was a classic engagment ring. I carved this wax and placed the stone on its side I pave set the mounting for some extra punch and viloa ! A really  wonderful right hand ring. One of my designs. I set this five carat radiant on its side so it would be easier to wear every day.

Henry Dunay sets these smaller oval cut diamonds on their sides for a great looking wedding band.
Stephan Webster designed this amazing lips themed ring. A large marquise shaped garnet gives the ring extra bite.

 Here is a classic art deco ring from the 1920s With a large oval Sapphire set on its side. 

A large Amethyst set sideways Very Dramatic !

I set this clients’ Emreald into a hand made green gold mounting The stone looks great set on its side.

Leave a comment